Friday, February 27, 2009

Australian Music Day - 1992

This 19 track CD is another promotional release from 1992.

It's from The Coca Cola Australian Music Awards.

All in all not a bad selection of tracks off this now near impossible to get album. Not bad for something I found in my local Vinnies Store when I went to the post office today. Best ONE dollar I spent all day!!

I hope you all enjoy!

Artists and tracks are :-

Radio Freedom - Proove
Girl Overboard - Your Love
Tall Tales & True - Watching The Wind Blow
James Reyne - Ferris Wheel
Pearls & Swine - No More Room In Heaven
The Sharp - Dance For Me
Bass Culture - Love Your Life
Scarlet - Love Hates Stares
Astral Project - Come With Me (Tonite)
Clouds - Say It
Cleopatra Wong - Thank You
Images - Lost In The City
The Honeymen - Felt Like A Kiss
James Blundell - This Road
Shanley Del - Funnel Of Love
Paul Norton - When We Were Young
Broderick Smith - Snowblind Moon
The Lovers - The River
Mark Gillespie - Flame

Full Artwork included / CD Rip / Bitrate 320k

Australian Music Day - 1992

Thursday, February 19, 2009

Mark Williams - ZNZ

Mark Williams was born in 1954 in New Zealand. While still at high school, he formed his first band with some of his classmates. They called themselves The Face. Mark was the vocalist and rhythm guitarist.

In 1975 and 1976 he was voted New Zealand's Top Male Vocalist.

This album was a totally different sound for Mark, who had previously had a much "smoother" sound.

The album was produced by Harry Vanda and George Young, they also wrote all the songs. It contains the killer track "Show No Mercy".

The tracks on this album are :-
Show No Mercy
Fix Of Love
Spell Is Broken
Heavy Woman
Good Thing
I Love Electric
Shanghai Lily
You're So Cool
Feel For The Night
Fool No More

Since the release of this album, Mark has been in constant demand as a session singer.

Recently Mark took over vocals for the newly reformed Dragon. They have a new album due out shortly.

Once again, this is another long deleted album.

Full Artwork included / CD Rip / Bitrate 320k

Mark Williams ZNZ

Monday, February 16, 2009

Peter Blakeley - Harry's Cafe de Wheels

Named after a famous Aussie pie shop in Wooloomooloo, Sydney, this is the first album by Peter Blakeley.

Peter Blakeley is an Australian White Soul / Adult-Contemporary singer and songwriter.

He was a lead singer for popular band The Rockmelons in the mid-1980's.

Launching a solo career in 1987, he had a huge hit single in Australia in 1990 with "Crying in the Chapel", which was not a remake of the 1950s song "Crying in the Chapel".

The album was released in 1989 and is now another deleted item from the Australian catalogues. This is sad to see as it is happening all too often to our ARIA award winners. The ARIA Award for Single Of The Year for 1990 was presented to Peter Blakeley for his hit "Crying In The Chapel". That single was his first single from this album.

The album was recorded in Los Angeles and features some top flight Aussie and LA musician's, including.... Dan Dugmore, Jim Keltner, Jeff Porcaro, Linda Ronstadt, Wendy Matthews, Leland Sklar, Waddy Wachtel and many, many more.

Tracks on this album are :-

Crying In The Chapel
You Never Heard It From Me
First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
Heaven Is Calling
Who Let The Secret Out
Strange In My Own Hometown
There Must Be Something I Can Do
Working For A Living
Lost On The River
Quicksand (Reprise)

Artwork included / CD Rip / Bitrate 320k

Peter Blakeley - Harry's Cafe de Wheels

Monday, February 9, 2009

Chocolate Starfish - 1994

I first saw ARIA award winning band Chocolate Starfish on Hey, Hey It's Saturday back in 1994, when they were promoting this CD.
I can recall my own view on them at the time. Their lead singer was reminiscent of another flamboyant singer I had seen in the 1970's, Jeff Duff and his great band Kush.

The band first emerged and recorded in 1993.

This, their first album, achieved Platinum status and received an ARIA Award for Most Popular Album of 1994. It is undoubtedly their most recognised and popular work.
The album debuted in the ARIA charts at #2, quite an achievement for a relatively unheard of band.

The producer was Brian Canham, leader of Pseudo Echo, who also mixed the album along with the famous Doug Brady.

Chocolate Starfish's first major album release had 2 top 5 hits. They were You're So Vain,(a cover of the Carly Simon song) and Mountain.
Other tracks, such as All Over Me and Four Letter Word also achieved top 40 success in Australia.

Extensive touring over 1994 ensured this album was in the CD collection of many Australians in the mid 90's.

Adam Thompson was the lead singer, coming out of University in Geelong. The band became known for his often outrageous appearance and on-stage persona.

The band, as they were are the time of this album comprised of -

Adam Thompson - Vocals
Zoran Romich - Guitar
Norman Falvo - Keyboards
John Nixon - Bass
Darren Danielson - Drums

Chocolate Starfish disbanded in 1998 and had a short reunion in 1999.

This album is another casualty of the Australian recording industry and has been deleted from their catalogues.

Artwork included / CD Rip / Bitrate 320k

Chocolate Starfish